Toronto Book Award


The award is presented to authors whose books are evocative of Toronto and are of literary and artistic merit. There is a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Toronto City Council
Address/Adresse: Toronto Book Awards
c/o Toronto Protocol
City Clerk's Office
2nd floor, West, City Hall
100 Queen Street West
Toronto, ON
M5H 2N2

Phone/Téléphone: 416-392-7805
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,Miscellaneous/Divers,Non-fiction/Non romanesque,Novel/Roman,Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1974 Richard Wright In the Middle of Life
1974 Desmond Morton Mayor Howland
1974 William Kurelek O Toronto
1975 Claude Bissell Halfway Up Parnassus
1975 Loren Lind The Learning Machine
1975 Labour History Collective Women at Work
1976 Robert Harney Immigrants
Harold Troper
1976 Hugh Hood The Swing in the Garden
1977 Margaret Atwood Lady Oracle
1977 Margaret Gibson The Butterfly Ward
1978 Christopher Armstrong The Revenge of the Methodist Bicycle Company
H. V. Nelles
1978 Timothy Findley The Wars
1979 Michael Bliss A Canadian Millionaire
1979 John Morgan Gray Fun Tomorrow
1979 William Dendy Lost Toronto
1980 Raymond Souster Hanging In
1980 Stephen A. Speisman The Jews of Toronto
1981 Helen Weinzweig Basic Black with Pearls
1981 Timothy Colton Big Daddy
1981 Mary Larratt Smith Young Mr. Smith in Upper Canada
1982 Marian Engel Lunatic Villas
1982 Claude Bissell The Young Vincent Massey
1983 Michael Bliss The Discovery of Insulin
1983 Lucy Booth Martyn The Face of Early Toronto
1984 Gerald Killan David Boyle
1984 Eric Wright The Night the Gods Smiled
1984 Edith G. Firth Toronto in Art
1985 Joseph Skvorecky The Engineer of Human Souls
1985 J. M. S. Careless Toronto to 1918
1985 Warabe Aska Who Goes to the Park
1986 Morley Callaghan Our Lady of the Snows
1986 Robertson Davies What's Bred in the Bone
1987 William Dendy Toronto Observed
William Kilbourn
1988 Michael Ondaatje In the Skin of a Lion
1989 Margaret Atwood Cat's Eye
1990 Hilary Russell Double Take
1990 Guy Vanderhaeghe Homesick
1991 Cary Fagan (ed) Streets of Attitude
Robert MacDonald (ed)
1992 Katherine Govier Hearts of Flame
1993 David Donnell China Blues
1993 Carole Corbeil Voice-over
1994 Timothy Findley Headhunter
1995 Ezra Schabas Sir Ernest MacMillan
1996 Rosemary Sullivan Shadow Maker
1997 Anne Michaels Fugitive Pieces
1998 Helen Humphreys Leaving Earth
1999 Richard Outram Benedict Arnold
2000 Camilla Gibb Mouthing the Words

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey