J. B. Tyrrell Historical Medal/Médaille J. B. Tyrrell en histoire


Alternate Title/Autre Titre:
Médaille J. B. Tyrrell en histoire/J. B. Tyrrell Historical Medal

In 1927, Joseph Burr Tyrrell, a geologist, geographer, explorer, engineer, and amateur historian, endowed a medal for the furtherance of knowledge of the history of Canada. The medal is awarded for outstanding work in this area. Originally awarded annually, since 1966 it has been awarded every two years. While there is some irregularity in the award years during the 1970s, all winners have been listed. The winner receives a gold plated silver medal.

En 1927 Joseph Burr Tyrrell, géologue, géographe, explorateur, ingénieur et historien amateur a établi par donation une médaille pour l'avancement des connaissances de l'histoire du Canada. Cette médaille récompense les travaux de qualité exceptionnelle dans ce domaine. À l'origine, elle était décernée tous les ans mais depuis 1966, elle est décernée tous les deux ans. On note une certaine irrégularité dans la remise de cette médaille au cours des années 70 mais tous les récipiendaires ont été identifiés. La médaille est en argent plaqué or.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
The Royal Society of Canada/Société royale du Canada
282 Somerset St. West.
Ottawa, ON
K2P 1P9

Phone/Téléphone: 613-991-6990
Fax/Télécopieur: 613-991-6996
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Body of Work / Oeuvre de toute une vie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1928 Thomas Chapais N/A - S/O
1929 George M. Wrong N/A - S/O
1930 Adam Shortt N/A - S/O
1931 Lawrence J. Burpee N/A - S/O
1932 Pierre-Georges Roy N/A - S/O
1933 Frederick W. Howay N/A - S/O
1934 John Clarence Webster N/A - S/O
1935 Ernest Alexander Cruikshank N/A - S/O
1936 W. Stewart Wallace N/A - S/O
1937 Aegidius Fauteux N/A - S/O
1938 William Wood N/A - S/O
1939 E.-Z. Massicotte N/A - S/O
1940 Chester Martin N/A - S/O
1941 Arthur S. Morton N/A - S/O
1942 D. C. Harvey N/A - S/O
1943 Gustave Lanctôt N/A - S/O
1944 Harold Adam Innis N/A - S/O
1945 Fred Landon N/A - S/O
1946 A. LeRoy Burt N/A - S/O
1947 Arthur R. M. Lower N/A - S/O
1948 Lionel Groulx N/A - S/O
1949 Reginald G. Trotter N/A - S/O
1950 John Bartlet Brebner N/A - S/O
1951 Donald Grant Creighton N/A - S/O
Jean Bruchési
1952 Charles Bruce Sissons N/A - S/O
1953 Séraphin Marion N/A - S/O
1954 G. P. de T. Glazebrook N/A - S/O
1955 Charles Perry Stacey N/A - S/O
1956 Olivier Maurault N/A - S/O
1957 George F. G. Stanley N/A - S/O
1958 William Lewis Morton N/A - S/O
1959 Arthur Maheux N/A - S/O
1960 Samuel Delbert Clark N/A - S/O
1961 Guy Frégault N/A - S/O
1962 James Maurice S. Careless N/A - S/O
1963 Frank H. Underhill N/A - S/O
1964 Marcel Trudel N/A - S/O
1965 W. Kaye Lamb N/A - S/O
1966 Edgar McInnis N/A - S/O
1968 Gerald William L. Nicholson N/A - S/O
1970 Fernand Ouellet N/A - S/O
1972 Jean Hamelin N/A - S/O
1975 Ramsay Cook N/A - S/O
1979 W. J. Eccles N/A - S/O
1982 Jean-Pierre Wallot N/A - S/O
1984 Carl Berger N/A - S/O
1986 John W. Holmes N/A - S/O
1988 J. Michael Bliss N/A - S/O
1990 Jacques Légaré N/A - S/O
Hubert Charbonneau
1992 Jack L. Granatstein N/A - S/O
1994 Cornelius J. Jaenen N/A - S/O
1996 Yves Roby N/A - S/O
1998 Jean-Claude Robert N/A - S/O
2000 Joy Parr N/A - S/O

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey