Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction


The award was established by writer and journalist Edna Staebler to encourage and recognize the Canadian writer of a first or second published book. The book must have a Canadian locale or a particular Canadian significance. There is a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Edna Staebler
Wilfred Laurier University
Address/Adresse: Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction
Award Administrator
c/o Office of the Dean, Faculty of Arts
Wilfrid Laurier University
75 University Avenue West
Waterloo ON
N2L 3C5

Phone/Téléphone: 519-884-1970 ext. 3364
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1991 Susan Mayse Ginger
1992 Marie Wadden Nitassinan
1993 Elizabeth Hay The Only Snow in Havana
1993 Liza Potvin White Lies
1994 Linda Johns Sharing a Robin's Life
1995 Denise Chong The Concubine's Children
1996 George G. Blackburn The Guns of Normandy
1997 Anne Mullens Timely Death
1998 Charlotte Gray Mrs. King
1999 Michael Poole Romancing Mary Jane
2000 Wayson Choy Paper Shadows

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey