Short Grain Writing Contest


Grain Magazine, an arms length organization of the Saskatchewan Writers Guild, established the writing contests to recognize achievement in various categories. The starting dates for the awards vary. The Long Grain of Truth award is for a non-fiction creative prose piece. There is a cash prize and winners are published in the Autumn issue of Grain magazine.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Grain Magazine
Address/Adresse: P. O. Box 67
Saskatoon, SK
S7K 3K1

Phone/Téléphone: 306-244-2828
Fax/Télécopieur: 306-244-0255
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Dramatic Monologue

Genre/Genre: Drama/Théâtre,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1996 Jill Dalibard Crabbed Old Woman
1997 Wanda Strukus Dark
1998 Pamela Donoghue Absolved
1999 Florence J. Gibson Riding the Roller Coaster
2000 Kathy Diane Leveille The Dance

Long Grain of Truth

Genre/Genre: Essay/Essai,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1999 Dick Bird Some Observations of Comparative Intelligence
2000 kath macLean On the Road to Winnipeg

Postcard Story

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1989 Allan Barr A True Story
1990 Joan Fern Shaw The Kiwi Fruit and I
1991 Catherine Bennett Jane Eyre, Revisited
1992 Welwyn Wilton Katz You Can Take Them Back
1993 Rosemary Nixon Vampa Falls
1994 Michael Kluznik The Last Wild Indian
1995 Richard Holeton Streleski at Findhorn on Acid
1996 Marilyn Grant The Light
1997 Kathleen Graham Conversations
1998 Alayna Munce Alice in Love
1998 Joan Crate Down the Road
1998 Cathleen With Hers Be Mine
1999 Dana Bath aerugo
2000 Cass McNally Winter Camp

Prose Poem

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1989 Sarah Klassen all along
1990 Su Croll Going to the Butcher's with Daddy
1991 Marion Beck Dolls
1992 Karen Fogg Opening
1993 Beth Goobie Permission
1994 Karen Houle 1620
1995 Jeff Seffinga Promises for a New Animal Husbandry
1996 Jennifer McIntyre Leaving The
1997 Shelley A. Leedahl Isla de Margarita, Venezuela
1998 Mark Libin Elements of a Typography / Typography of Elements
1999 Cathy Stonehouse In Hiroshima Peace Park
2000 Tim Bowling Two Dogs

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey