Short Prose Competition for Developing Writers


This award was initiated to discover, encourage, and promote new writers of fiction and non-fiction. Entry is restricted to writers who are not yet published in book format. There is a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Writers Union of Canada
Address/Adresse: 90 Richmond Street East
Suite 200
Toronto ON
M5C 1P1

Phone/Téléphone: 416-703-8982
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-504-9090
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Essay/Essai,Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1993 Camie Kim Travelling
1994 Dana P. Tierney The Line
1995 Shauna Singh Baldwin Jassie
1996 Melanie Little Tracing it Badly
1997 Paul Glennon How did you Sleep?
1998 Lewis DeSoto Invisible
1999 Tanya Ambrose Namaste
2000 Nathan Whitlock The Bad in My Back

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey