Dorothy Shoemaker Literary Awards Contest


The awards began as a Centennial project of the Kitchener Public Library and are named for Dorothy Shoemaker, the former chief librarian, who encouraged aspiring writers. In 1996, Miss Shoemaker endowed the awards when government cutbacks threatened their continuation. The awards are offered in three categories, Junior (up to 12 years), Intermediate (13 to 17), and Senior (18 and over). Only the Senior winners are listed. There are cash prizes.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Kitchener Public Library
Dorothy Shoemaker
Address/Adresse: Kitchener Public Library
85 Queen Street North
Kitchener, ON N2H 2N1

Phone/Téléphone: 519-743-0271
Fax/Télécopieur: 519-743-1261
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:


Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1971 Paul Crouse Lie to Me a Little
1972 Roger Horst Collection of Five Poems
1973 Robb Doerr Poems
1974 Constance Sawyer Poems
1975 Peg Tittle Poems
1976 Susan Amy Gearing There Has Been a Drowning
1977 Ronald Beier Grand-Pere
1978 Diane M. Sexton With Rain
1979 Paul de Souza Dedicated to My Friend Jules
1980 Paul de Souza Al Wismer
1981 Fred Martinovic Only in the Movies
1982 Don Middleton Manitoba Mountain
1983 Fred Martinovic Fresh Paint
1984 No Winner N/A
1985 Jane Bannon Formal Introduction
1986 Mary Hoy-Schmidt Departures
1987 Cheryl Gillin To My Grandfather
1988 Clodagh Reeves Telefon-part II
1989 Lorraine Fairley Early Walk
1990 S. Woolfrey Putting Down Sets
1991 Chris Szego Untitled
1992 Bieke Cammaert Le Couer Volant
1993 Margaret Bricker Pavlina's Old Baba
1994 Lian Goodall The Witch Trials of Salem, Ontario 1994
1995 Margita Gailitis My Father
1996 Zoe Bartosek Three Poems
1997 Leslie Morgenson Regret
1998 Renee Tavascia Orpheus Pretending
1999 Renee Tavascia Fidelity
2000 Erin Noteboom Poem for the Crew of the Kursk


Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1971 Ara Baliozian Compromises
1972 Ara Baliozian Silent Night
1973 Ara Baliozian Pigsty
1974 Constance Sawyer Remember Her Name
1975 Anne Clifford Back Door
1976 Dawn Vaneyk His Father's Song
1977 Gerald Lynch When It Rains
1978 Ine Schepers The Gray Bird of Schokland
1979 James Gardner Fruit Fly
1980 Bradd Burningham Among Children
1981 Brian Van Norman The Warrior
1982 Cyril Groom A Truly Grand Old Man
1983 Richard Payette The Room
1984 No Winner N/A
1985 Marney Heatley The Night the Cows Stopped Dancing
1986 Jaen Ruptash Bessie
1987 Alan Harkness Ashes from Babylon
1988 Renee Tavascia A Lemon Fudge Sort of Day
1989 Barbara Kyle Night Shoot
1990 Mary Ann Scott Perfectly Fine the Way She Is
1991 Renee Tavascia Normal Bias
1992 Joseph Simons Primary Passage
1993 Will Harvey The Flowers of Colonel Riley
1994 Janice Macdonald Walrus in a Glass Cage
1995 Judith Millar Taking Care of Daddy
1996 Mark Gridgeman Foxie Moxie
1997 Deanna Wilk Those Little Copper Creatures
1998 Paul de Witte What Matters Most
1999 Royden McCoag Hannibal Earl of Glengary
2000 Sylvia Morscher The Lie

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey