Ruth Schwartz Award for Excellence in Canadian Children's Literature


When the award was first presented in 1976 there was only one award, for the author and illustrator of the best children's book of the year. Since 1994 two awards have been given: best picture book and best young adult/middle reader book. The short list of books is selected by the Canadian Booksellers Association and the winners are chosen by juries of school children. The award is named in memory of Toronto bookseller, Ruth Schwartz. There is a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Ontario Arts Council
Sylvia Schwartz
Canadian Booksellers Association
Address/Adresse: Ontario Arts Council
151 Bloor Street West
5th Floor
Toronto, ON
M5S 1T6

Phone/Téléphone: 416-961-1660, 800-387-0058
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-969-7447
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1976 Mordecai Richler Jacob Two-Two Meets the Hooded Fang
1977 Robert Thomas Allen The Violin
1978 Dennis Lee Garbage Delight
Frank Newfeld (illus.)
1979 Kevin Major Hold Fast
1980 Barbara Smucker Days of Terror
1981 Suzanne Martel The King's Daughter
1982 Claire Mackay One Proud Summer
Marsha Hewitt
1983 Jan Truss Jasmin
1984 Tim Wynne-Jones Zoom at Sea
Ken Nutt (illus.)
1985 Jean Little Mama's Going to Buy You a Mockingbird
1986 Robert Munsch Thomas' Snowsuit
Michael Martchenko (illus.)
1987 Barbara Reid (illus) Have You Seen Birds?
Joanne Oppenheim
1988 Cora Taylor The Doll
1989 Janet Lunn Amos's Sweater
Kim LaFave (illus.)
1990 Diana Wieler Bad Boy
1991 William Bell Forbidden City
1992 Paul Yee Roses Sing on New Snow
Harvey Chan (illus.)
1993 Phoebe Gilman Something from Nothing

Picture Book

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1994 Michael Kusugak Northern Lights
Vladyana Krykorka (illus.)
1995 Barbara Greenwood A Pioneer Story
Heather Collins (illus.)
1996 Geoff Butler The Killick
1997 Paul Yee Ghost Train
Harvey Chan (illus.)
1998 Rick Jacobson (illus.) Jeremiah Learns to Read
Jo Ellen Bogart
Laura Fernandez (illus.)
1999 Celia Barker Lottridge Music for the Tsar of the Sea
Harvey Chan (illus.)
2000 Marie-Louise Gay Stella, Star of the Sea

Young Adult Book

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1994 O.R. Melling The Hunter's Moon
1995 Julie Johnston Adam and Eve and Pinch-Me
1996 Welwyn Wilton Katz Out of the Dark
1997 Kit Pearson Awake and Dreaming
1998 Martha Brooks Bone Dance
1999 Eric Walters War of the Eagles
2000 Kenneth Oppel Sunwing

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey