Salmon Arm Sonnet Contest


In 1984 an advertisement appeared in several national magazines stating that: 'More Canadians drink Martini Extra Dry than compose sonnets in Salmon Arm - just.' Not content to let such an opportunity slip by, members of the Salmon Arm (BC) Council, with the assistance of Okanagan College English professor Les Ellenor decided to promote the idea and the annual competition was born. The dates for the contest changed in 1989, hence no winner for that year. The winner received a cash prize and a week in Salmon Arm, BC.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Salmon Arm Council
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 Andrew Parkin Last Reel
1986 Catherine Holgate Bankier Stroke
1987 F.Fraser Sutherland On Shuswap Lake
1988 Dick Hainsworth For Peggy
1990 H. Maxwell Butcher Homecoming of Salmon Arm
1991 Dick Hainsworth Eleventh Hour
1992 William Mitchell-Banks The Staircase
1993 Louise E. Poole Pagan's Song
1994 Dick Hainsworth June 6, 1944
1995 Mardi Bastow Red Sky at Morning
1996 Myra Stilborn The Party Line
1997 Dick Hainsworth What Jealous Fortune
1998 Irene Rodger Shuswap Spring

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey