Quebec Writers' Federation Awards


Alternate Title/Autre Titre:
First Book Award
QSPELL Translation Prize
Prix de la QSPELL

See Also/Voir Aussi:
Quebec Writers' Federation Translation Prize

In 1998 when the Quebec Society for the Promotion of English Language Literature (QSPELL) and the Federation of English-language Writers of Quebec (FEWQ) merged to form the Quebec Writers' Federation, they continued the QSPELL Prizes as the QWF Awards. The prizes had originally been given for non-fiction (becoming the Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-Fiction in 1998); poetry (becoming the A. M. Klein Prize for Poetry in 1992); and fiction (becoming the Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction in 1991). In 1996, the FEWQ inaugurated the First Book Award (becoming the McAuslan First Book Award in 1999) for a book by an author not previously published in book form which is continued in the QWF Awards. In 1998 the QSPELL Translation Prize (now the Quebec Writer's Federation Translation Prize, which see) was inaugurated. To be considered for the QWF Awards, books must be written in English by an author who has been resident in Quebec for at least three of the past five years. Each award carries a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Quebec Writers' Federation
Address/Adresse: 1200 ave. Atwater Ave.
Montréal, QC
H3Z 1X4

Phone/Téléphone: 514-933-0878
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

A. M. Klein Prize for Poetry

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1988 David Solway Modern Marriage
1989 D. G. Jones Balthazar and Other Poems
1990 Bruce Taylor Cold Rubber Feet
1990 Erin Mouré WSW ((West South West))
1991 Eric Ormsby Bavarian Shrine and Other Poems
1992 Naomi Guttman Reasons for Winter
1993 Ralph Gustafson Configurations at Midnight
1994 Julie Bruck The Woman Downstairs
1995 D. G. Jones The Floating Garden
1996 Anne Carson Glass, Irony and God
1997 Ralph Gustafson Visions Fugitive
1998 Anne Carson Autobiography of Red
1999 Bruce Taylor Facts
2000 Rachel Rose Giving My Body to Science

Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction

Genre/Genre: Novel/Roman,Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1988 Hugh Hood The Motor Boys in Ottawa
1989 Kenneth Radu Distant Relations
1990 Mordecai Richler Solomon Gursky Was Here
1991 Kenneth Radu A Private Performance
1992 Ray Smith A Night at the Opera
1993 P. Scott Lawrence Missing Fred Astaire
1994 Ann Diamond Evil Eye
1995 George Szanto Friends & Marriages
1996 Trevor Ferguson The Timekeeper
1997 Charles Foran Butterfly Lovers
1998 Mordecai Richler Barney's Version
1999 Elyse Gasco Can You Wave Bye Bye, Baby?
2000 Julie Keith The Devil Out There

Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-Fiction

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1988 Witold Rybczynski Home
1989 Witold Rybczynski The Most Beautiful House in the World
1990 David Solway Education Lost
1991 Donald MacKay Flight from Famine
1992 Mary Meigs In the Company of Strangers
1993 Zhimei Zhang Foxspirit
1994 Raymond Filip Flowers in Magnetic Fields
1995 Charles Foran The Last House of Ulster
1996 T. F. Rigelhof A Blue Boy in a Black Dress
1997 William Weintraub City Unique
1998 David Manicom Progeny of Ghosts
1999 Elaine Kalman Naves Putting Down Roots
2000 Taras Grescoe Sacré Blues

McAuslan First Book Award

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,Novel/Roman,Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1996 Blema Steinberg Shame and Humiliation
1997 Irene Burstyn Picking up Pearls
1998 Matthew Friedman Fuzzy Logic
1999 Elyse Gasco Can You Wave By Bye, Baby?
2000 Taras Grescoe Sacré Blues

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey