Paragraph Short Story Contest


Paragraph magazine, and its predecessors, Cross-Canada Writers Quarterly and Cross-Canada Writers Magazine, offered this award. Paragraph ceased publication in 1999 and no winners could be identified after 1990. There was a cash prize and the winning entries were published in the magazine.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Paragraph magazine
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:


Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1981 J. B. Arsenault Death of a Soldier
1982 James Falcone Final Entry
1983 Jill Adamson Guatemalan Morning
1984 Barbara Carey In the Latest Photo
1985 Eva Tihanyi Escaping Hypnosis
1986 Alison Beaumont She Thinks About Drowning
1987 Roberta Olenick Lyell Island
1988 Rod Anderson TTTT
1989 Brian Burke Spying on My Father as Gardener
1990 Patricia Young For My Father

Short Fiction

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1981 Barbara Carey Prisoner of Conscience
1982 Johanne Caulfield The Last Rose
1983 Edward O. Phillips Why Don't You Sit Over Here?
1984 Mildred Tremblay Ruby's Child
1985 A. H. G. Paterson Indian Summer
1986 R. G. O'Riordan Lady Godiva
1987 Patricia Stone Passing On
1988 Linda Pearce Letting Go
1989 Lenore Latta Say Goodbye
1990 Norbert Ruebsaat Nazis

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey