O'Leary Newfoundland Poetry Awards


The idea of an award to foster Newfoundland literature was originally conceived by Michael Harrington whose radio program 'The Barrelman' was sponsored by F. M. O'Leary, Ltd. There was a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
F. M. O'Leary, Ltd.
Address/Adresse: NL
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:
Newfoundland and Labrador/Terre-neuve et Labrador

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1944 Georgiana Cooper The Deserted Island
1945 Gregory Power Answering a Child
1946 Chester Harris Metamorphosis
1947 Isaac Newell Lines for an Anniversary
1948 Gregory Power Bogwood
1949 Harold R. Penney Immortality
1950 Harry R. Burton Memorabile
1951 Edith Mitchell To John Stirling Finishing Kindergarten
1952 Harold R. Penney Let Me Sleep
1953 Geraldine Case In a Sombre Mood
1954 George H. Case Gardens
1955 Eric Dickson Cave Hiscock The Gladiola

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey