Nepean Public Library Annual Short Story Contest


Sponsored by the Nepean Public Library, the contest was open to Ontario residents (18 years or older) in the Region of Ottawa-Carleton. There was a cash award and the works were available at the library. (In 2001 after the Nepean Public Library merged with other libraries in the region to become the 'new' Ottawa Public Library, the contest became the Ottawa Public Library Short Story Contest.)

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Nepean Public Library
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1987 Barbara Lynne Black Arbutus Island
1988 Dayv James-French The Day J. Edgar Hoover Died
1989 Susan Zettelli The Mustard Jacket
1990 Gerald Lynch Walking the Wall
1991 Nicholas Strachan Early Stages
1992 Dorothy Speak An Evening of Euchre
1993 Nadine McInnis Woman in Descent
1994 Mary Borsky Ice
1995 Kim B. Brunhuber Hot in April
1996 Nadine McInnis The Human Chain
1997 Richard Weintrager In a Bottle of Blue Glass
1998 Mark Frutkin The Ex-President's Orchid Garden
1999 John Blackmore Twenty Words for Snow
2000 Chris McPherson The Pineapple Thai Village

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey