Simon Newcomb Award


Named to honour the Nova Scotia born astronomer Simon Newcomb, the award is intended to encourage members of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC) to write on the topic of astronomy for the Society or the general public. There is a cash prize and a trophy.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Royal Astronomical Society of Canada/La Société Royale d'Astronomie du Canada
Address/Adresse: 203 - 4920 Dundas Street West
Toronto, ON
M9A 1B7

Phone/Téléphone: 416-924-7973 or toll-free at 1-888-924-7272
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-924-2911
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Essay/Essai,Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1979 William J. Calnen Astronomy at King's College, Windsor, Nova Scotia
1980 No Winner N/A
1981 Christopher Rutkowski What is Happening on the Moon? Lunar Transient Phenomena
1982 Phil Mozel The Woodstock College Observatory
1983 No Winner N/A
1984 No Winner N/A
1985 Donald F. Trombino Dr. John William Draper - First to Photograph the Moon
1986 David Chapman Recurrent Phenomena of Venus and the Venus/Earth Orbital Resonance
1987 Peter Jedicke Neutrinos, the Sun and Canada
1988 No Winner N/A
1989 No Winner N/A
1990 No Winner N/A
1991 No Winner N/A
1992 No Winner N/A
1993 No Winner N/A
1994 Michael Watson Simultaneous Lunar Occulations of Two Planets
1995 No Winner N/A
1996 No Winner N/A
1997 No Winner N/A
1998 No Winner N/A
1999 Terence Dickinson (body of work)
2000 No Winner N/A

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey