National Playwriting Competition


The parent association for theatre in British Columbia sponsors this competition to stimulate development of new Canadian plays. There is a cash award in each category.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Theatre BC
Address/Adresse: Old Courthouse Cultural Centre
7 West Seymour Street
Kamloops, BC
V2C 1E4

Phone/Téléphone: 778-471-5620, 888-202-2913
Fax/Télécopieur: 778-471-5639
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Full-Length Play

Genre/Genre: Drama/Théâtre,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1989 William Chadwick A Question of Degree
1990 Vivienne Laxdal Karla and Grif
1991 Matthew Decter The Attack of the Fifty Foot Woman
1992 Greg Nelson Castrato
1993 Donald Molnar Sara's Cave
1994 Kit Brennan Tiger's Heart
1995 Simon Johnston Running Dog, Paper Tiger
1996 Michael MacLennan The Last Day
1997 Kathleen Oliver Swollen Tongues
1998 Lindsay Price Eat the Bread
1999 Jamie Norris November
2000 Diane Martin This Above All

One-Act Play

Genre/Genre: Drama/Théâtre,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1989 Clem Martini Life History of the African Elephant
1990 Daniel David Moses The Dreaming Beauty
1991 Peter Duschenes Lost River
1992 Frank Borg The Chalk Player
1993 Addena Sumter-Freitag Stay Black and Die
1994 Paul McLaughlin Jacques Plante and the Parkdale Knitting League
1995 Amber Lee Kolson Snow Angel
1996 Drew Carnwath I Dream of the Living
1997 Ted Atherton A Bowl of Rose Leaves
1998 Maryjane Cruise Dried Flowers
1999 Gabrielle Kemeny Two Words
Denise Blinn
2000 Meah Martin Brown Wasp

Special Merit

Genre/Genre: Drama/Théâtre,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1989 Gordon J. Portman Grace
1990 Mark Leiren-Young Blueprints from Space
1991 Maureen Robinson Rye and Shine
1992 Michael David Kwan The Day of the Phoenix
1993 A. Colin Wright Lieutenant Kizhe
1994 Edward Sullivan Wolf Howl
1995 Laura McGhee Joyride
1996 Keith Provost The Exhumation of Ginger Cat
1997 Michael Hentges Life Through a Cracked Windshield
1998 Natalie D. Meisner Life and a Lover
1999 Lucas Foss Little Voices
2000 Sally Stubbs She'll to the Wars

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey