National Poetry Contest


The League of Canadian Poets presented this award for unpublished poems. After 1992, the winning poems were published in an annual anthology, Vintage. In 2000 the League declared a moratorium on the contest while they studied the feasibility of reinstating it at a later date. There was a cash prize

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
League of Canadian Poets
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1988 Michael Redhill The Radio Net
1989 Elisabeth Harvor ?
1989 Elyse Yates St. George ?
1989 Patricia Young ?
1990 Diana Brebner Snow Angels
1991 Elisabeth Harvor Fortress of Chairs
1992 Nadine McInnis Crossing Kurdistan
1993 Joy Kirstin 7:16
1994 Tim Bowling Snowy Owl After Midnight
1995 Catherine Greenwood The Stillbirth
1996 Patricia Young Even the Brilliant Chimpanzees
1997 Marlene Cookshaw Jan Garbarek's Saxophone
1998 Esta Spalding Bee Verse
1999 Susan M. Stenson When You Say Infidelity
2000 Russell Thornton The Beginning of Stars

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey