Maclean's Magazine Awards


From 1927 to 1957 Maclean-Hunter offered awards for short story writing (1927-1955) and novels (1953-1957). The records are incomplete. The listing here is from Statistics Canada, Literary and Journalistic Awards in Canada, 1923-1973.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Maclean's Magazine
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:


Genre/Genre: Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1953 W. O. Mitchell The Pilgrimage into Paradise
1954 ? ?
1955 Morley Callaghan The Many Coloured Coat
1956 John Cornish Olga
1957 James McNamee Florencia Bay

Short Stories

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1927 R. V. Gery Alouette
1927 Lilian Benyon Thomas Five Cents for Luck
1927 Mazo de la Roche Good Friday
1927 Leslie McFadden The Root House
1928 Will E. Ingersoll ?
1928 Alberta C. Trimble Foreground
1945 Jean Howarth I'll Wait for You All My Life
1945 Kay Ebster It Takes All Kinds
1945 Anka Stewart The Scar
1948 John Jeffrey Simons Black Is the Colour of My True Love's Hair
1948 Ernest Buckler The Quarrel
1948 Fred Sloman The Tin Coat
1950 John Watson A Letter from a Girl Called Elsie
1950 Vera Johnson Black 6 on Red 7
1950 J. N. Harris Mail
1952 Vera Johnson A Man's Got to Lie Once in a While
1952 David MacDonald Rory Peter's Last Run
1952 Colin McDougall The Firing Squad
1955 Doris French The Burning Crusade of Andrew McNorran
1955 Ann Maude Henry The Magic Life
1955 Michael Sheldon The Spirit of the Bank of Lower Canada

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey