Cecilia Lamont Literary Contest


The awards are presented for poetry and prose. Entries, in English, which have not previously been published for a fee are accepted from British Columbia residents. Along with a trophy, there is a cash prize. Since 1982, the Club has published a number of anthologies which have included the winning entries.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
White Rock and Surrey Writers' Club
Address/Adresse: c/o Community Arts Council of White Rock and District
15232 Russell Avenue
White Rock, BC
V4B 2P6

Phone/Téléphone: 604-536-8333
Fax/Télécopieur: 604-536-8335
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:
British Columbia/Colombie-Britannique


Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1977 Kit Peterson Orchestra and Dance
1978 Bess Homewood The Padlock
1979 Bess Homewood Once upon a Time
1980 Agatha Ratzzlaff Snow
1981 ? ?
1982 Doreen Anderson Haiku Five
1983 Louise Geoffrion ?
1984 Nelia Tierney My Mouth Carelessly
1985 Carole Brost Beyond Repair
1986 Mae Hill Brown ?
1987 Pat Andrews Through the Window Glass
1988 Mavis Jones Naini Tal
1989 Catherine Dubie North Summer Night
1990 Estelle McLachlan Green
1991 K. V. Skene Missing
1992 Pat Andrews From Behind Closed Doors
1993 Margo Button Origami
1994 William Maranda The Dark Things Grow
1995 Sheila Peters Vapour Trails
1996 Tana Williams Runyan What She Forgets
1997 Ross Laird Turning
1998 Matthew Manera A Lone Heron
1999 Astrid Van der Pol On Reading Kafka
2000 Kit Pepper Some Mornings


Genre/Genre: Essay/Essai,Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1977 ? ?
1978 ? ?
1979 ? ?
1980 ? ?
1981 Isabel Foote The Crystal Drop
1982 ? ?
1983 Marguerite Carrier ?
1984 Diane Mohrsen In the Beginning
1985 Ruth Philp The First Liberated Woman
1986 Sue Nevill ?
1987 Carolyn Hyslop Monologue
1988 Vange Brossard Island Idyll
1989 M. V. Bergstrand Northern Woman
1990 B. N. Robinson The Music in the Roof
1991 B. N. Robinson Pointing the Way
1992 Constance Mortenson Supper Time
1993 Cait R. Coogan The Dairy Farmer
1994 Elizabeth Symon Guilt Trip
1995 Michael Williams The Battle
1996 John Dumbrille Border Crossing
1997 Sandra Robson The River
1998 Cair R. Coogan No More
1999 Veronica Dahl Love to Hide, Love to Invent
2000 Veronica Dahl A Case of Possession

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey