Gerald Lampert Memorial Award


The award is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors' tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers. It recognizes the best first book of poetry by a Canadian in the preceding year. There is a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
The League of Canadian Poets
Address/Adresse: 192 Spadina Avenue
Suite 312
Toronto, ON
M5T 2C2

Phone/Téléphone: 416-504-1657
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-504-0096
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1981 Elizabeth Allan The Shored Up House
1982 Abraham Boyarsky Shreilber
1983 Diana Hartog Manitee Light
1984 Jean McKay Gone to Grass
1984 Sandra Birdsell Night Travellers
1985 Paulette Jiles Celestial Navigation
1986 Joan Fern Shaw Raspberry Vinegar
1987 Rosemary Sullivan The Space a Name Makes
1988 Di Brandt Questions I Asked My Mother
1989 Sarah Klassen Journey to Yalta
1990 Steven Heighton Stalin's Carnival
1991 Diana Brebner Radiant Life Forms
1992 Joanne Arnott Wiles of Girlhood
1993 Roberta Rees Eyes Like Pigeons
1993 Elisabeth Harvor Fortress of Chairs
1994 Illya Tourtidis Mad Magellan's Tale
1994 Barbara Klar The Night You Called Me a Shadow
1995 Keith Maillard Dementia Americana
1996 Maureen Hynes Rough Skin
1997 Marilyn Dumont A Really Good Brown Girl
1998 Mark Sinnett The Landing
1999 Stephanie Bolster White Stone
2000 Shawna Lemay All the God-Sized Fruit

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey