LaPointe Prize


Named for Valerie LaPointe, Milton Acorn’s friend and secretary, the prize was for an individual unpublished poem in the "People's Poetry tradition as exemplified by the work of Milton Acorn and Dorothy Livesay. An entry fee was charged to provide prizes and to cover incidental expenses for volunteers with the Acorn-Livesay Festival. There were cash prizes. A pamphlet was published each year of the prize winners and those awarded honorable mention. The pamphlets were distributed free of charge during the festival at the venues taking part in the festival. The festival itself was an outgrowth of the Acorn Festival that had been held annually in P.E.I. When it imploded due partially to financial stresses, James Deahl, a good friend of Acorn, decided to continue in a different way in Ontario and perhaps beyond. Local poets were urged to arrange an event and register it with the festival committee for dissemination of the information. Events included poetry readings, with art exhibitions, a series of Milton Acorn Lectures, and musical concerts among them. The Festival was discontinued because of health problems of the organizers and the inability of other volunteers to provide the necessary impetus to keep it going.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Acorn-Livesay People's Festival
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1998 Joy Hewitt Mann My Father's Apple Orchard
1999 Lea Harper The Colours of Love
2000 Jannie Edwards An Old Woman Dreams of Sleep
2001 Joelene Heathcote Cicada

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey