Kingston Literary Awards


The Kingston Regional Arts Council initiated this writing contest encourage and recognize literary excellence by local writers. Residents in the counties of Frontenac, Lennox and Addington, and Leeds-Grenville are invited to submit short stories in English. There is a cash prize and the winning entries are published.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Kingston Regional Arts Council
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1987 Amy Friedman The Fire Escape
1988 Judith Alguire What's Your Sign?
1989 Steven Heighton The Battle of Midway
1990 Wendy Moore What's Black and White
1991 Patience Wheatley Rescue 1923-The Nymphs are Departed
1992 A. Colin Wright A Pregnant Woman with Parcels at Brock and Bagot
1993 Hok-Lin Leung Three Women
1994 David Pratt Namaste
1995 Richard Einwechter Foxing the Stars
1996 Julie Glaser Blue Elvis
1997 Kypp Saunders Bird-Watching
1998 Margrita Courchene The Guillotine
1999 Sharon Hunt The Accordion Salesman
2000 Tanya Ambrose Darwin's Deviations
2000 Jocelyn Shipley Tree of Galahs
2001 Moez Surani In Times of Drought

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey