Journey Prize


Established by James Michener from the royalties of Journey, this award is presented to a new writer. Promising short stories are culled from Canadian literary journals and published as The Journey Prize Anthology. One of these is chosen for the Journey Prize. There is a cash award.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
McClelland & Stewart Inc.
Address/Adresse: 75 Sherbourne Street
5th Floor
Toronto, ON
M5A 2P9

Phone/Téléphone: 416-598-1114
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-598-7764
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1989 Holley Rubinsky Rapid Transits (Malahat Review)
1990 Cynthia Flood My Father Took a Cake to France
1991 Yann Martel The Facts Behind the Helsinki Roccamatios
1992 Rozena Maart No Rosa, No District Six
1993 Gayla Reid Sister Doyle's Men
1994 Melissa Hardy Long Man the River
1995 Katherine Woodward Of Marranos and Gilded Angels
1996 Elyse Gasco Can You Wave Bye-Bye, Baby?
1997 Anne Simpson Dreaming Snow
1997 Gabriella Goliger Maladies of the Inner Ear
1998 John Brooke The Finer Points of Apples
1999 Alissa York The Back of the Bear's Mouth
2000 Timothy Taylor Doves of Townsend

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey