IODE Children's Book Award


The award is given to either an author or an illustrator of a book for children between the ages of 6 and 12 years. The award winner must be resident in Toronto or the surrounding area. There is a cash award. [Editor's note - Following the death of National IODE President Jean Throop in 2004, the prize was renamed the Jean Throop Book Award.]

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire (Municipal Chapter of Toronto)
Address/Adresse: 40 St. Clair Ave East
Suite 205
Toronto, ON
M4T 1M9

Phone/Téléphone: 416-925-5078
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-925-5127
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1974 Dennis Lee Alligator Pie
Frank Newfeld (illus.)
1975 William Kurelek A Prairie Boy's Winter
1976 Aviva Layton How the Kookaburra Got His Laugh
Robert Smith (illus)
1977 William Toye The Loon's Necklace
Elizabeth Cleaver (illus)
1978 Marian Engel My Name is Not Odessa Yarker
Laszlo Gal (illus)
1978 Laszlo Gal (illus) The Shirt of the Happy Man
Mariella Berteli
1978 Laszlo Gal (illus) Why the Man in the Moon Is Happy
Ronald Melzack
1979 Janet Lunn The Twelve Dancing Princesses
Laszlo Gal (illus)
1980 Barry Dickson Afraid of the Dark
Olena Kassian (illus)
1980 Selwyn Dewdney The Hungry Time
Barry Dickson (illus)
1981 Bernice Thurman Hunter That Scatterbrain Booky
1982 Kathy Stinson Red Is Best
Robin Baird Lewis (illus)
1983 Tim Wynne-Jones Zoom at Sea
Ken Nutt (illus.)
1984 Ian Wallace Chin Chiang and the Dragon's Dance
1985 Robin Muller The Sorcerer's Apprentice
1986 Joanne Oppenheim Have You Seen Birds?
Barbara Reid (illus)
1987 Caroline Parry Let's Celebrate!
1988 Teddy Jam Night Cars
Eric Beddows (illus)
1989 Monica Hughes Little Fingerling
Brenda Clark (illus)
1990 David Booth Voices on the Wind
Michèle Lemieux (illus)
1991 Michael Bedard The Nightingale
Regolo Ricci (illus)
1992 Janet Lunn The Story of Canada
Christopher Moore
Alan Daniel (illus)
1993 Celia Barker Lottridge Ten Small Tales
Joanne Fitzgerald (illus)
1994 Joanne Findon The Dream of Aengus
Ted Nasmith (illus)
1995 Linda Granfield In Flanders Fields
Janet Wilson (illus.)
1996 Karen Reczuch (illus) Dust Bowl
David Booth
1997 Ian Wallace A Winter's Tale
1998 Marilyn Helmer Fog Cat
Paul Mombourquette (illus)
1999 Michael Bedard Clay Ladies
Les Tait (illus)
2000 Stephen Strauss How Big Is Big
Matthew Fernandes (illus)

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey