IODE National One-Act Play Competition


Offered by the national chapter of the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire for an unpublished one-act play, preferably about Canadian life. British subjects living in Canada were eligible. Winners received a cash prize and had their works published in the official IODE magazine Echoes.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
The National Chapter of the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Drama/Théâtre,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1923 George E. Clough The Striker
1924 T. M. Morrow Coincidence
1925 Mazo de la Roche Low Life
1926 Isabel Eccleston Mackay Treasure
1927 Merton Staffore Threlfall Two Tricks in Diamonds
1928 No Winner N/A
1929 Don Wetmore The House of Laval
1930 Lois Reynolds Open Doors
1931 Ivy Maison Circumstantial Evidence
1931 Ralph S. Morton Gold Mad
1932 Mary W. Brooks Whirr of Wings
1933 Miriam Stein Retribution
1934 No Winner N/A
1935 ? ?
1936 Emily Leavens Remembering

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey