Heritage Toronto Awards


Alternate Title/Autre Titre:
Toronto Historical Board Awards

Awarded to recognize architectural conservation, heritage activities and publications related to Toronto's heritage. From 1974 to 1999 these awards were known as the Toronto Historical Board Awards. The name was changed with the change of name of the board. Only book award winners are listed. There is a framed certificate.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Heritage Toronto
Address/Adresse: 157 King Street East
3rd Floor
Toronto, ON
M5C 1G9

Phone/Téléphone: 416- 338-0684
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-392-1772
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1974 Edith Firth (ed) The Town of York
1975 ? ?
1976 ? ?
1977 ? ?
1978 ? ?
1979 ? ?
1980 Michael Bliss A Canadian Millionaire
1981 ? ?
1982 ? ?
1983 ? ?
1984 ? ?
1985 William Kilbourn Toronto Remembered
1986 Patricia McHugh Toronto Architecture
1987 No Winner N/A
1988 Stephen Otto Toronto
1989 Ontario Heritage Foundation Well Preserved
1990 No Winner N/A
1991 Ontario Association of Architects The Ontario Association of Architects
1992 Douglas Richardson A Not Unsightly Building
1992 Congregation of Little Trinity Church Holding Forth the Word of Life
1992 Toronto Region Architectural Conservancy Terra Cotta
1992 Jeffrey Stinson The Heritage of the Port Industrial District
1993 Don Ritchie North Toronto
1993 David Hayes Power and Influence
1993 Franca Iacovetta Such Hard-Working People
1994 William Kilbourn An Intimate Grandeur
1994 Rebecca Sisler Art for Enlightenment
1994 John Sewell The Shape of the City
1995 Jon Caulfield City Form and Everyday Life
1995 John Bentley Mays Emerald City
1995 Rosemary Howorth For the Love of Children
1995 Brian P Clarke Piety and Nationalism
1995 Brendan O'Brien Speedy Justice
1996 Lillian Petroff Sojourners and Settlers
1996 Angela Carr Toronto Architect Edmund Burke
1997 Margaret Atwood Alias Grace
1997 Anne Michaels Fugitive Pieces
1997 Marianne Brandis Rebellion
1997 Sara Z. Burke Seeking the Highest Good
1997 Richard Harris Unplanned Suburbs
1998 Sydell Waxman Changing the Pattern
1998 Humber Watershed Task Force Legacy
1998 Liz Lundell The Estates of Old Toronto
1998 Dave Thomas When Milk Came in Bottles
Bob Marchant
1999 Nancy Byers St. Clair West in Pictures
Barbara Myrvold
2000 Lesley Marrus Barsky From Generation to Generation

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey