Giller Prize


The prize was established to recognize excellence in Canadian fiction and is awarded to the best novel or short story collection published in English. There is a cash prize and a bronze statuette sculpted by Yehouda Chaki. [Editor's note: In 2005 the prize became The Scotiabank Giller Prize.]

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Scotiabank Giller Prize
Address/Adresse: c/o Elana Rabinovitch
2-576 Davenport Rd.
Toronto, ON
M5R 1K9

Phone/Téléphone: 416-934-0755
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-934-0971
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Novel/Roman,Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1994 M. G. Vassanji The Book of Secrets
1995 Rohinton Mistry A Fine Balance
1996 Margaret Atwood Alias Grace
1997 Mordecai Richler Barney's Version
1998 Alice Munro The Love of a Good Woman
1999 Bonnie Burnard A Good House
2000 Michael Ondaatje Anil's Ghost
2000 David Adams Richards Mercy Among the Children

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey