Young Adult Canadian Book Award


Established in 1980 by the Young Adult Caucus of the Saskatchewan Library Association, the award is administered by the Young Adult Services Interest Group of the Canadian Library Association. The award recognizes the author of an outstanding English language Canadian book which appeals to young adults between the ages of 13 and 18. The winner receives a leather-bound book with the title, author, and award seal embossed on the cover in gold.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Canadian Library Association
Address/Adresse: 1150 Morrison Drive
Suite 400
Ottawa, ON
K2H 8S9

Phone/Téléphone: 613-232-9625
Fax/Télécopieur: 613-563-9895
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1981 Kevin Major Far from Shore
1982 Jamie Brown Superbike
1983 Monica Hughes Hunter in the Dark
1984 O. R. Melling The Druid's Tune
1985 Mary-Ellen Lang Collura Winners
1986 Marianne Brandis The Quarter-Pie Window
1987 Janet Lunn Shadow in Hawthorn Bay
1988 Margaret Buffie Who is Frances Rain?
1989 Helen Fogwill Porter January, February, June or July
1990 Diana Wieler Bad Boy
1991 Budge Wilson The Leaving
1992 Susan Lynn Reynolds Strandia
1993 Karleen Bradford There Will Be Wolves
1994 Sean Stewart Nobody
1995 Julie Johnston Adam and Eve and Pinch-Me
1996 Tim Wynne-Jones The Maestro
1997 R. P. MacIntyre Takes
1998 Martha Brooks Bone Dance
1999 Gayle Friesen Janey
2000 Katherine Holubitsky Alone at Ninety Foot

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey