Writers' Federation of New Brunswick Literary Competition


Originally open to only New Brunswick writers, the competition is now open to non-New Brunswick entrants. The categories have changed slightly over the years with the awards now offered in four categories: poetry, prose fiction, prose non fiction, and children's literature. The drama award has not been given since 1989. The Alfred G. Bailey Prize for a poetry manuscript honours the New Brunswick poet and professor. The Federation also awards the Sheree Fitch Prize to youth, 14 18 years of age, which is not listed here. There is a cash prize in each category.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Writers Federation of New Brunswick
P.O. Box 306
Moncton, NB
E1C 8L4

Phone/Téléphone: 506-459-7228
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:
New Brunswick/Nouveau-Brunswick

Alfred G. Bailey Prize (1985-? The Honorary President's Prize)

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 Ted Colson Poems for Epiphany
1986 Liliane Welch Word-House of a Grandchild
1987 Allan Cooper ?
1988 Robert Richards Awardable Words
1989 Roger Moore (collection of poems)
1989 Sheree Fitch Wipe Your Hands Across Your Mouth and Laugh
1990 Mark Henderson Sheets of Grass
1991 Heather Browne Prince At Sunset & Afterwards
1992 Allan Cooper House of Mortal Clay
1993 Phyllis Rowan The Lion Speaks
1994 Heather Browne Prince House Psalms Sequence
1995 Roger Moore Alban Angels
1996 Steve McOrmond Before the Long Spiral
1997 Shari Andrews Bones About to Bloom
1998 Shane Rhodes Ten Seconds of Silence
1999 Adam Dickinson Cartography of Wood
2000 Tammy Lynn Armstrong A Proper Burial for Songbirds

Children's Literature

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1990 Elin Elgaard Andy & the Two Kings
1991 Catherine Brown-Murphy The Last Island Supper
1992 No Winner N/A
1993 Gretchen Wilson (collection of children's poems)
1994 Catherine Brown-Murphy Winter Wings
1995 Rosalie MacEachern Cameron and the Mover
1996 Susan VandeGriek Stranger in the House
1997 Michael Pacey The Toy Cupboard
1998 Cheryl Thomas Knee Slapper Folk Poems
1999 Natasha LeBlanc Turtlenecks and Giraffe Skins
2000 Karen Davidson Albert County Air

David Adams Richards Prize (for long fiction)

Genre/Genre: Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1995 Jo-Anne Elder The Ex-Lover Stories
1996 Rosalie MacEachern A Bit of Peace
1997 Kelly Cooper Chance or Appointment
1998 J. J. Paciga Perfect Specimen
1999 Tammy Armstrong Volet
2000 Larry Lynch The Ice Bridge


Genre/Genre: Drama/Théâtre,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 Michael Pacey A Thief in the Night
1986 Thomas Mureika ?
1987 No Winner N/A
1988 No Winner N/A
1989 Em Harpp The Scarf


Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1987 Elspeth Bradbury The Trouble with Names
1988 Ronald Tilley Firewood
1989 Joan Sichel Superheroes I Have Known...And Grown to Love...a Little
1990 Donna Neilson Clark
1991 Mary Fraser A Flight to Remember
1992 Gretchen Wilson Everything You Never Wanted to Know about Childbirth
1993 Bernice McQuinn Excerpts From My Journal
1994 Hilary Rifkin Cold Steel Comfort
1995 Mark Gillan Fireground Procedure
1996 Judy Maddocks To Tom, With Love
1997 Bernice McQuinn Ward 16, Room 110
1998 Robert Hicks Gulf War Story
1999 Vernon Mooers A Day in the Life
2000 Noeline Bridge Picnic at the Dead Sea


Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 Karen Braun ?
1986 Steven Laird ?
1987 Liliane Welch Inaccessible Peaks
1988 Michael Thorpe Maple & Boy
1989 Bruce Bagnell (for five poems)
1990 Edward Gates Five Ghazals
1991 Phyllis Rowan Swallows in a Concrete Nest
1992 Mark Henderson Unstoppable Song
1993 Margaret McLeod The Fawn
1994 M. Travis Lane (for five poems)
1995 Karen McFadden For Sale
1996 Shari Andrews Scenarios with Fog
1997 Owen Schafer Raising the Whale
1998 Phyllis McKinley Dancing in My Red Shoes
1999 Liliane Welch Claude Monet's Water Landscapes
2000 matt robinson ?

Short Fiction (1990-1994, called the David Adams Richards Prize)

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 Shirley-Dale Easley Hopscotch
1986 Donald R. Kitchen ?
1987 Bradd Burningham ?
1988 John Lavery Papers
1989 John Webster Take Back the Night
1990 John Lavery A Dream Dump
1991 Elizabeth Venart Row on Row
1992 Hannah Grant The Forest of Arden
1993 Wayne Curtis Fall of '58
1994 John McLaughlin Little Bells
1995 Bernice McQuinn A Room Full of Clothes
1996 Hannah Grant Urban Myths
1997 Alasdair MacLean Miss Bitchy
1998 Clarissa Hurley Women and Linen Look Better in the Dark
1999 Kelly Cooper Zungunrahe
2000 Larry Lynch The Weight of a Blind Dog

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey