George Wicken Prize in Canadian Literature


Awarded to a student, graduate or undergraduate, who submits the best critical essay on any aspect of Canadian literature. The prize is named in honour of George Wicken, known for his research on 19th century Canadian poetry and for his innovative teaching methods at Centennial College. The award consists of cash, publication of the essay in Essays on Canadian Writing (suspended publication in 2004).

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Essays on Canadian Writing
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Essay/Essai,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 Alistair Highet Manifold Destiny
1986 Stephen Henighan Myths of Making It
1987 John Clement Ball The Carnival of Babel
1988 David Lobdell Eros in the Age of Anxiety
1989 Fotios Sarris In the Skin of a Lion
1990 David Little On the Trail of Hugh Hood
1991 Jacqui Smyth Divided Down the Middle
1992 Kenneth Wilson The Nutty Professor
1993 Cynthia Sugars On the Rungs of the Double Helix
1994 Peter Cumming The Prick and Its Vagaries
1995 Nancy Paul Redressing the Balance
1996 Kimberly Verwaayen Region/Body
1997 Sarah Brophy In Sotto Howl
1998 Mary Elizabeth Leighton Performing Pauline Johnson
1999 Robert McGill The Sublime Simulacrum
2000 Catherine Higginson The Raced Female Body and the Discourse of Peuplement in Rudy Wiebe's The Temptations of Big Bear and The Scorched-Wood People

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey