First Novel Award


Alternate Title/Autre Titre:
Books in Canada First Novel Award
Chapters/Books in Canada First Novel Award
Smith Books/Books in Canada First Novel Award

Launched by Books in Canada this award was variously known as the Books in Canada First Novel Award, the Smith Books/Books in Canada First Novel Award and the Chapters/Books in Canada First Novel Award depending on the sponsor. The award was given to the author of the best first novel published in the previous year. There was a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Books in Canada
Smith Books
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1977 Michael Ondaatje Coming Through Slaughter
1978 Ian McLachlan The Seventh Hexagram
1979 Oonah McFee Sandbars
1980 Clark Blaise Lunar Attractions
1981 W. D. Valgardson Gentle Sinners
1982 Joy Kogawa Obasan
1983 W. P. Kinsella Shoeless Joe
1984 Heather Robertson Willie
1985 Geoffrey Ursell Perdue
1986 Wayne Johnston The Story of Bobby O'Malley
1987 Karen Lawrence The Life of Helen Alone
1988 Marion Quednau The Butterfly Chair
1989 Rick Salutin A Man of Little Faith
1990 Sandra Birdsell The Missing Child
1991 Nino Ricci Lives of the Saints
1992 Rohinton Mistry Such a Long Journey
1993 John Steffler The Afterlife of George Cartwright
1994 Deborah Joy Corey Losing Eddie
1995 Shyam Selvadurai Funny Boy
1996 Keath Fraser Popular Anatomy
1997 Anne Michaels Fugitive Pieces
1998 Margaret Gibson Opium Dreams
1999 André Alexis Childhood
2000 Alan R. Wilson Before the Flood
2000 David Macfarlane Summer Gone

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey