Norma Epstein National Creative Writing Competition


This biennial award is given in odd numbered years to a student in a Canadian university. It recognizes a substantial work in fiction, drama, or verse such as a long poem or group of poems; a full-length play or a group of shorter plays; or a novel or collection of short stories. Because it was not possible to determine first prize winners, all winners other than honorable mention have been listed. There are cash prizes.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
University of Toronto
Address/Adresse: Office of the Registrar
University College
Room 173
15 King's College Circle
Toronto, ON
M5S 3H7

Phone/Téléphone: 416-978-8083
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-978-2027
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Drama/Théâtre,Novel/Roman,Poetry / Poésie,Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1963 No Winner N/A
1965 Rona Hadden ? (poetry)
1967 Frank McEnaney ? (drama)
1967 Richard Kitaeff ? (novel)
Gretl Fischer
1969 Lennox Brown ? (drama)
Michael Galle
1969 R. W. Gool ? (novel)
Anthony Southgate
1969 T. D. MacLulich ? (poetry)
1971 Elizabeth Carroll ? (novella & stories)
1971 E. Shirley Bradley ? (short stories)
1971 Shelagh Supeene ? (short story)
1973 David Adams Richards The Coming of Winter (first five chapters)
1975 Ian Dennis ? (short stories)
1977 Michael J. Cullen Goodnight, Sammy Wong (novel)
1977 Roger Greenwald What You Asked For (poetry)
1979 J. J. Steinfeld ? (novel)
1979 Jennifer Alley ? (poetry)
1981 Shirley Wynne Buswell ? (novel)
1983 Richard Stevenson Driving Offensively (poetry)
1983 Brian Burke Watching the Whales Jump and Other Stories (short stories)
1985 No Winner N/A
1987 Hart Hanson The Last Gypsy Summer (novel)
1989 Bruce Taylor ? (poetry)
1991 Edeet Ravel ? (prose fiction)
1993 Stephanie Bolster Alice's Evidence (poetry)
1995 Sylvia J. Dorling ? (poetry)
1995 Maria Billion ? (short story)
Steven Hayward
1997 Michael Londry The Careful Derailment (poetry)
1999 Erinn Banting The Sharpest Ballad (novel-in-progress)

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey