Marian Engel Award


Inaugurated to honour the memory of writer Marian Engel, this prize is awarded each year to a female Canadian writer in mid-career, not for a single book, but for a body of work and in hope of future contribution. There is a cash award. {Editor's note: In 2008, the Marian Engel Award and the Timothy Findley Award were merged to create the Engel/Findley Award.]

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Writers' Trust of Canada
Address/Adresse: 90 Richmond Street East
Suite 200
Toronto, ON
M5C 1P1

Phone/Téléphone: 416-504-8222
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-504-9090
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Body of Work / Oeuvre de toute une vie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1986 Alice Munro N/A
1987 Audrey Thomas N/A
1988 Edna Alford N/A
1989 Merna Summers N/A
1990 Carol Shields N/A
1991 Joan Clark N/A
1992 Joan Barfoot N/A
1993 Sandra Birdsell N/A
1994 Jane Urquhart N/A
1995 Bonnie Burnard N/A
1996 Barbara Gowdy N/A
1997 Katherine Govier N/A
1998 Sharon Butala N/A
1999 Janice Kulyk Keefer N/A
2000 Anita Rau Badami N/A

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey