Arthur Ellis Awards / Prix Arthur Ellis


Alternate Title/Autre Titre:
Prix Arthur Ellis / Arthur Ellis Awards

These awards acknowledge the nom de travail of Canada's official hangman. They are offered in a number of categories. The categories are listed by their most current name and all winners have been listed. The winners receive cash prizes and an Arthur statuette of a scaffold with a wooden figure that 'dances' when a string is pulled.

Ce prix rappelle le nom de travail du bourreau officiel du Canada. Il est décerné dans plusieurs catégories. Ces catégories sont identifiées par leur nom actuel et le nom de tous les récipiendaires est inclus dans la liste. Les gagnants reçoivent un prix en espèces ainsi qu'une statuette Arthur qui représente un échafaud et une figurine en bois qui 'danse' au bout d'une corde.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Crime Writers of Canada
2160 Colonel William Parkway
Oakville, Ontario
L6M 0B8

Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Best Crime Work in French/Meilleur ouvrage policier en français

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
2000 Lionel Noel Louna

Best First Novel/Meilleur premier roman

Genre/Genre: Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1987 Medora Sale Murder on the Run
1988 Laurence Gough The Goldfish Bowl
1989 John Brady A Stone of the Heart
1990 John Lawrence Reynolds The Man Who Murdered God
1991 Carsten Stroud Snipers Moon
1992 Paul Grescoe Flesh Wound
1993 Sean Stewart Passion Play
1994 Gavin Scott Memory Trace
1995 Sparkle Hayter What's a Girl Gotta Do?
1996 D. H. Toole Moonlit Days and Nights
1996 John Spencer Hill The Last Castrato
1997 C. C. Benison Death at Buckingham Palace
1998 Kathy Reichs Deja Dead
1999 Liz Brady Sudden Blow
2000 Andrew Pyper Lost Girls

Best Genre Criticism/Reference Award/Prix de la meilleure critique/référence du genre

Genre/Genre: Miscellaneous/Divers,Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1991 Donald A. Redmond Sherlock Holmes Among the Pirates
1992 Wesley A. Wark Spy Fiction, Spy Films and Real Intelligence

Best Juvenile Award/Prix du meilleur ouvrage pour la jeunesse

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1994 John Dowd Abalone Summer
1995 James Heneghan Torn Away
1996 Norah McClintock Mistaken Identity
1997 Linda Bailey How Can a Frozen Detective Stay Hot on the Trail?
1998 Norah McClintock The Body in the Basement
1999 Norah McClintock Sins of the Father
2000 Linda Bailey How Can a Brilliant Detective Shine in the Dark?

Best Novel/Meilleur roman

Genre/Genre: Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1984 Eric Wright The Night the Gods Smiled
1985 Howard Engel Murder Sees the Light
1986 Eric Wright Death in the Old Country
1987 Edward O. Phillips Buried on Sunday
1988 Carol Shields Swann
1989 Chris Scott Jack
1990 Laurence Gough Hot Shots
1991 L. R. Wright A Chill Rain in January
1992 Peter Robinson Past Reason Hated
1993 Carsten Stroud Lizardskin
1994 John Lawrence Reynolds Gypsy Sins
1995 Gail Bowen A Colder Kind of Death
1996 L. R. Wright Mother Love
1997 Peter Robinson Innocent Graves
1998 William Deverell Trial of Passion
1999 Nora Kelly Old Wounds
2000 Rosemary Aubert The Feast of Stephen

Best Play/Meilleure pièce de théâtre

Genre/Genre: Drama/Théâtre,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1994 Timothy Findley The Stillborn Lover

Best Short Story/Meilleure nouvelle

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1988 Eric Wright Looking for an Honest Man
1989 Jas. R. Petrin Killer in the House
1990 Josef Skvorecky Humbug
1991 Peter Robinson Innocence
1992 Eric Wright Two in the Bush
1993 Nancy Kilpatrick Mantrap
1994 Robert J. Sawyer Just Like Old Times
1995 Rosemary Aubert The Midnight Boat To Palermo
1996 Mary Jane Maffini Cotton Armour
1997 Richard K. Bercuson Dead Run
1998 Sue Pike Widows Weeds
1999 Scott Mackay Last Inning
2000 Matt Hughes One More Kill

Best True Crime/Meilleur roman policier

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 Martin Friedland The Trials of Israel Lipsky
1986 Maggie Siggins A Canadian Tragedy
1987 Elliott Leyton Hunting Humans
1988 Gary Ross Stung
1989 Mick Lowe Conspiracy of Brothers
1990 Lisa Priest Conspiracy of Silence
1991 Susan Mayse Ginger
1992 William Lowther Arms and the Man
1993 Kirk Makin Redrum the Innocent
1994 David R. Williams With Malice Aforethought
1995 Michael Harris The Prodigal Husband
1996 Lois Simmie The Secret Lives of Sgt. John Wilson
1997 Jean Monet The Cassock and the Crown
1998 Patricia Pearson When She was Bad
1999 Derek Finkle No Claim to Mercy
2000 Gordon Sinclair Cowboys and Indians

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey