Violet Downey Children's Book Award


Presented for the best English language book containing at least 500 words that is suitable for children 13 and under. There is a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
National Chapter of Canada IODE
Address/Adresse: 40 Orchard View Blvd.
Suite 219
Toronto, ON
M4R 1B9

Phone/Téléphone: 416-487-4416
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-487-4417
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 Mary-Ellen Lang Collura Winners
1986 Marianne Brandis The Quarter-Pie Window
1987 Janet Lunn Shadow in Hawthorn Bay
1988 Donn Kushner A Book Dragon
1989 No Winner N/A
1990 Paul Yee Tales from Gold Mountain
1991 Barbara Smucker Incredible Jumbo
1992 Sheryl McFarlane Waiting for Whales
1993 Julie Johnston Hero of Lesser Causes
1994 Kit Pearson The Lights Go on Again
1995 Sarah Ellis Out of the Blue
1996 Jean Little His Banner Over Me
1997 Janet McNaughton To Dance at the Palais Royale
1998 Celia Barker Lottridge Wings to Fly
1999 Gayle Friesen Janey's Girl
2000 Katherine Holubitsky Alone at Ninety Foot

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey