Dartmouth Book and Writing Awards


Awarded to books which best reflect the spirit of Nova Scotia and its people. The first year there was only one award. The following year the award was divided into fiction and non-fiction categories. A cash prize is awarded in each category.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Jarislowsky-Fraser Ltd.
Seamark Asset Management Ltd.
Address/Adresse: Heather MacKenzie
Halifax Public Libraries
60 Alderney Drive
Dartmouth, NS
B2Y 4P8

Phone/Téléphone: 902-490-5991
Fax/Télécopieur: 902-490-5889
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:
Nova Scotia/Nouvelle-Écosse

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1989 Harry Bruce Down Home


Genre/Genre: Novel/Roman,Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1990 Lesley Choyce The Second Season of Jonas MacPherson
1991 Budge Wilson The Leaving
1992 Donna Smyth Loyalist Runaway
1992 Kim Atwood Two of Me
1993 Robert MacNeil Burden of Desire
1994 Beatrice MacNeil Moonlight Skater
1995 Lesley Choyce Republic of Nothing
1996 Leo McKay Like This: Stories
1997 Ann-Marie MacDonald Fall on Your Knees
1998 Betty Boudreau Vaughan I'll Buy You an Ox
1999 Lynn Coady Strange Heaven
2000 Alistair MacLeod No Great Mischief

Non- Fiction

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1990 Claude Bissell Ernest Buckler Remembered
1991 Harry Thurston Tidal Life
1992 Silver Donald Cameron Wind, Whales and Whiskey
1993 Sally Ross Acadians of Nova Scotia
Alphonse Deveau
1994 Leslie Smith Dow Adele Hugo
1994 Daniel Paul We Were Not the Savages
1995 Dean Jobb Calculated Risk
1996 J.R.C Perkin Ordinary Magic
1997 Lance Woolaver The Illuminated Life of Maud Lewis
Bob Brooks
1998 Merritt Gibson The Old Place
1999 James Mahar Too Many to Mourn
Rowena Mahar
2000 David Frank J. B. McLachlan

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey