Drummer General's Award


Established to honour books which were overlooked by the Governor General's Literary Awards/Prix littéraires du Gouverneur général. The winner is given a hand printed certificate. [Editor's Note: The store was sold in 2010 and the status of the prize is indeterminate.]

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
a different drummer books
Address/Adresse: 513 Locust Street
Burlington, ON
L7S 1V3

Phone/Téléphone: 905-639-0925
Fax/Télécopieur: 905-681-8893
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:


Genre/Genre: Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1993 Jane Urquhart Away
1994 Robertson Davies The Cunning Man
1995 No Winner N/A
1996 Anne Michaels Fugitive Pieces
1997 No Winner N/A
1998 Jack Hodgins Broken Ground
1999 Alistair MacLeod No Great Mischief
2000 Alistair MacLeod presumptive winner


Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1993 Ernest Hillen The Way of a Boy
1994 Michael Bliss Right Honourable Men
1995 No Winner N/A
1996 Jill Downie A Passionate Pen
1997 No Winner N/A
1998 Mark Kingwell Better Living
1999 No Winner N/A
2000 Catherine Gildiner Too Close to the Falls

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey