Canada-Australia Literary Prize


This award, administered by the Canada Council and the Australian Arts Council, was given in alternating years to an English-language Canadian or Australian writer. The award was made on the basis of the complete works of a writer. There was a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Canada Council
Australian Arts Council
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:
International / International

Genre/Genre: Body of Work / Oeuvre de toute une vie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1976 John Romeril (Australia) N/A
1977 Alice Munro (Canada) N/A
1978 Thomas Schapcott (Australia) N/A
1979 Michael Ondaatje (Canada) N/A
1980 Roger McDonald (Australia) N/A
1981 Leon Rooke (Canada) N/A
1982 Barry Oakley (Australia) N/A
1983 Mavis Gallant (Canada) N/A
1984 Les A. Murray (Australia) N/A
1985 Jack Hodgins (Canada) N/A
1986 Rodney Hall (Australia) N/A
1987 Sharon Pollock (Canada) N/A
1988 Elizabeth Jolley (Australia) N/A
1989 Audrey Thomas (Canada) N/A
1990 Georgia Savage (Australia) N/A
1991 No Winner N/A
1992 David Adams Richards (Canada) N/A
1993 Louis Nowra (Australia) N/A
1994 Rohinton Mistry (Canada) N/A

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey