Canadian Authors Association (Niagara Branch) Contests


Originally a contest for only poetry, a short story category was added in 2000. Both contests are for unpublished work, with the poetry contest limited to residents of the Regional Municipality of Niagara. All 1983 poetry winners are listed as it was not possible to determine individual standing. There were no contests in 1989, 1990, and 1997. The poetry entries are published in an annual anthology and the short story winners are published in The St. Catherine's Standard. There is also a cash prize for each category.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Canadian Authors Association (Niagara Branch)
P. O. Box 9
Grimsby, ON
L3M 4G1

Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Poetry Anthology Contest

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1983 Jill Merel Fox May Flowers
1984 Jacqueline Damato The Windcombers
1985 Laura Lamarche To J. R. (on seeing your picture in the paper)
1986 Carrado Federici Relative Importance
1987 Jacqueline Damato For Emilia
1988 Daphne Martin Chrysalis
1988 Daphne Martin First Grandchild
1988 Daphne Martin Pictures From Line 3
1988 Daphne Martin The Coast
1989 No Winner N/A
1990 No Winner N/A
1991 Kim Stokes Salty Tear
1992 Patrick G.V. Kerr An April Moment
1992 Patrick G.V. Kerr Julia's Diary
1992 Patrick G.V. Kerr Rita Blackley
1992 Patrick G.V. Kerr The Ways of the World
1993 Stacie Harder Emblem
1993 Stacie Harder Metastasis
1993 Stacie Harder Mind Window
1993 Stacie Harder Seahorse
1994 Kevin James Block Moonlight
1995 Joan Tovenati Hostess
1996 Elizabeth Glenny Double Life
1997 No Winner N/A
1998 Elizabeth Glenny Love Knot
1998 Elizabeth Glenny Luring a Muse
1998 Elizabeth Glenny My Life With My Breast
1998 Elizabeth Glenny On Second Glance
1998 Elizabeth Glenny Putting Down Peaches
1998 Elizabeth Glenny The Mourner
1999 John Barta A Legacy
1999 John Barta Swallow
2000 Joan Tovenati In the Pale Country

Short Story Competition

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
2000 Joan Hotson The Accident

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey