Canadian Authors Association (Nova Scotia Branch) Awards


Author's of books for children, either fictional prose or non-fictional prose or poetry, are eligible for these awards if they reside in the Atlantic Provinces. From 1988-1991, the Marianna Dempster Award was given for a body of work. From 1992-1994 it was given for an individual book. When the Lilla Stirling Memorial Award was initiated in 1995 two categories were established with the Dempster recognizing books designed for very young children, and the Stirling for books designed for older children. The awards consist of a certificate and a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Canadian Authors Association (Nova Scotia Branch)
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:
Newfoundland and Labrador/Terre-neuve et Labrador
Nova Scotia/Nouvelle-Écosse
New Brunswick/Nouveau-Brunswick
Prince Edward Island/Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Lilla Stirling Memorial Award

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1995 Pamela Hickman Habitats and Wetlands
1996 Don Acker Of Things Not Seen
1997 Mary Ann Monnon Henry's Quest
1998 Dorothy Lawrence Matthew's Quest
1999 Budge Wilson Sharla
2000 Sylvia Gunnery Menace and Mischief

Marianna Dempster Award

Genre/Genre: Body of Work / Oeuvre de toute une vie,Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1988 Lilla Stirling (body of work)
1989 Joyce Barkhouse (body of work)
1990 Gertrude Rice (body of work)
1991 Kay Hill (body of work)
1992 Budge Wilson Lucinda's Diary
1993 Joan Payzant Who's a Fraidy Cat
1994 Sheree Fitch There Were Monkeys in My Kitchen
1995 David Adlington Marty Mouse Goes Somewhere
1996 Joyce Simard There's a Camel in My Sandbox
1997 Beatrice McNeil There's a Mouse in the House of Miss Crouse
1998 Maxine Trottier Heartsong
1999 Murdena Skinner Emma's Circus Surprise
2000 Elaine Ingalls Hogg Remembering History

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey