CBC Literary Awards


Alternate Title/Autre Titre:
Canadian Literary Awards
CBC Radio Literary Competition
Saturday Night/CBC Literary Awards
Tilden Canadian Literary Awards

Initiated by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) and Tamarack Review to encourage new writers by providing them with a national audience when the winning works were broadcast on CBC Radio. The first prizes were offered for short story, poetry, and personal essays/memoirs (1979-1981, 1990- ). Over the years awards have also been given for radio drama (1982-1989) and children's stories (1982-1984). During the time when Saturday Night was a co-sponsor (1994-?) winning works were also printed in the magazine. In 1997 the Canada Council for the Arts joined as a sponsor of the award. There was only one presentation for the combined years of 1992-1993 and 1998-1999. These awards have also been known as the Canadian Literary Awards, CBC Radio Literary Competition, the Saturday Night/CBC Literary Awards, and the Tilden Canadian Literary Awards. In addition to being broadcast on the radio, winners receive a cash prize. [Editors' note: in 2002 the awards became bilingual and Air Canada's enRoute magazine became a co-sponsor.]

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
CBC Radio Performance
enRoute magazine
CBC Books
CBC Radio Arts and Entertainment
Box 500, Stn. A
Toronto, ON
M5W 1E6

Phone/Téléphone: 877-888-6788
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Children's Story

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1982 Alice Tomlinson The Hen's Castle
1983 No Winner N/A
1984 Diana Wieler To The Mountains, By Morning

Personal Essays/Memoirs

Genre/Genre: Essay/Essai,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1979 Charles Ritchie My Cousin Gerald
1980 No Winner N/A
1981 Ronald R. Jeffels The Fifth Man
1990 Ross Klatte Leaving the Farm
1991 Amy Friedman Shame and Pleasure
1993 Carolyn Smart A Careful Man
1994 Norman Doidge The Suit
1995 Judith Kalman Flight
1996 Jamie Zeppa Jungle Fever
1997 Elaine Kalman Naves Hair
1998 Timothy Wilson Boo
1999 Roberta Rees Tunnels
2000 No Winner N/A


Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1979 No Winner N/A
1980 No Winner N/A
1981 Francis Sparshott The Cave of Trophonius
1982 Roo Borson Summer's Drug
1983 David Helwig Catchpenny Poems
1984 Kim Maltman Technologies/Installations
1985 Andrew Wreggitt Southeasterly
1985 Robert Bringhurst The Blue Roofs of Japan
1986 Christopher Dewdney A Natural History of Southwestern Ontario
1987 Lorna Crozier Angels of Silence
1988 Michael Harris Spring Descending
1989 No Winner N/A
1990 Heather Spears Human Acts
1991 John Terpstra Captain Kintail and Church Not Made With Hands
1993 Diana Brebner Eleven Paintings by Mary Pratt
1994 Roger Greenwald Poems
1995 John B. Lee Kicheraboo, We Are Dying
1996 Susan Musgrave The Gold Luck of Carp
1997 Roberta Rees Hoar Frost
1998 Suzanne Buffam One Version
1999 Don Domanski Drowning Water & Other Poems
2000 No Winner N/A

Radio Drama

Genre/Genre: Radio-TV/Radio/Télévision,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1982 Rachel Wyatt Jupiter's Feet
1983 Carol Shields Women Waiting
1984 John Gregory Stations
1985 Eric Nicol Ratzlaff vs. The Creator
1986 Cordelia Strube Mortal
1987 W.D. Valgardson Seiche
1988 Matthew Decter Rico The Demon
1989 Louise Young Hungry Ghosts

Short Story

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1979 Sean Virgo Les Rites
1980 W. D. Valgardson A Matter of Balance
1981 Budge Wilson The Leaving
1982 Michael Ondaatje The Passions of Lalla
1983 Gwendolyn MacEwen The Other Country
1984 Ernst Havemann An Interview
1985 Janice Kulyk Keefer Mrs. Putnam at the Planetarium
1986 Janice Kulyk Keefer The Wind
1987 Carol Windley Dream Land
1988 Ernst Havemann A Van for Violet
1989 Patrick Roscoe Peggy Lee in Africa
1990 Irena Friedman Karafilly Hoodlums
1991 Joan Givner Elizabeth
1993 Gail Anderson-Dargatz The Girl With the Bell Necklace
1994 Gayla Reid In the Water Like This
1995 Frances Itani Bolero
1996 Frances Itani Poached Egg on Toast
1997 Shauna Singh Baldwin Satya
1998 Bill Gaston Where It Comes From, Where It Goes
1999 David Bergen How Can Men Share a Bottle of Vodka?
2000 No Winner N/A

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey