Floyd S. Chalmers Award in Ontario History


The award is given for the best book written on any aspect of Ontario history published in the calendar year. The winning author receives a cash prize and a piece of Inuit sculpture.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Champlain Society
10 Morrow Avenue
Suite 202
Toronto, ON
M6R 2J1

Phone/Téléphone: 416-482-9635
Fax/Télécopieur: 416-482-9341
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:
International / International

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1983 Gerald Killan David Boyle
1984 Donald H. Akenson The Irish in Ontario
1985 Kenneth J. Rea The Prosperous Years
1986 Charles M. Johnston E. C. Drury
1987 Ian Radforth Bushworkers and Bosses
1988 Bruce S. Elliot Irish Immigrants in the Canadas
1989 Philip Marchand Marshall McLuhan
1990 R. D. Gidney Inventing Secondary Education
W. P. J. Millar
1991 John T. Saywell Just Call Me Mitch
1991 Marianne McLean The People of Glengarry
1992 Franca Iacovetta Such Hardworking People
1993 Douglas McCalla Planting the Province
1994 R. D. Gidney Professional Gentlemen
W. P. J. Millar
1995 Patricia Jasen Wild Things
1996 Lynne Marks Revivals and Roller Rinks
1997 Keith Walden Becoming Modern in Toronto
1998 Margaret Jane Hillyard Little 'No Car, No Radio, No Liquor Permit'
1999 Charlotte Gray Sisters in the Wilderness
2000 James T. H. Connor Doing Good

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey