Beaver Trophy


The Hudson's Bay Company (Edmonton) offered a miniature replica of the Beaver Trophy and a cash prize to the author of an unpublished book-length manuscript. The competition was open to English language authors living within a 100 mile radius of Edmonton.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Hudson's Bay Company
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1965 W. G. Hardy Origins and Ordeals of the Western World
1966 Barbara Villy Cormack Perennials and Politics
1966 John W. Chalmers Schools of the Foothills Province
1967 Delbert A. Young Last Voyage of the Unicorn
1968 James G. MacGregor Vilni Zemli
1969 Esther Fraser The Canadian Rockies
1970 June Bhatia The Moneylenders of Shahpur
1971 Delbert A. Young The Ghost Ship
1972 Frank A. Smith Traitor
1973 Patricia Stevenson Maligne
1974 Betty Wilson Where
1975 Dorothy Barnhouse Quest for the Golden Gannet
1976 ? ?
1977 ? ?
1978 Peggy Holmes It Could Have Been Worse
1979 Helen J. Rosta Patchwork Cat
1980 ? ?
1981 Monica Hughes Hunter in the Dark

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey