BC Book Prizes


See Also/Voir Aussi:
Eaton's British Columbia Book Awards

The awards are offered for a number of categories and have various sponsors. In 1985 the first of these awards replaced the Eaton's B. C. Awards (which see) with additional categories being added in subsequent years. A cash prize is awarded. [Editor's note: From 1986-1988, the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize was named the Poetry Prize.]

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
West Coast Book Prize Society
Address/Adresse: #901-207 W. Hastings St.
Vancouver, BC
V6B 1H7

Phone/Téléphone: 604-687-2405
Fax/Télécopieur: 604-687-2435
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:
British Columbia/Colombie-Britannique
Yukon / Yukon

Bill Duthie B. C. Bookseller's Choice Award

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,Non-fiction/Non romanesque,Novel/Roman,Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 Islands Protection Society Islands at the Edge
1986 Cameron Young The Forests of B. C.
1987 Doris Shadbolt Bill Reid
1988 Hilary Stewart The Adventures and Sufferings of John R. Jewitt
1989 M. M'Gonigle Stein
W. Wickwire
1990 Western Canada Wilderness Committee Carmanah
1991 Michael Kluckner Vanishing Vancouver
1992 Robert Bringhurst The Black Canoe
Ulli Steltzer
1993 Nick Bantock Sabine's Notebook
1994 Alan Haig-Brown Fishing for a Living
1995 Robert Davidson Eagle Transforming
1996 Bill Richardson Bachelor Brothers Bed & Breakfast Pillow Book
1997 Syd Cannings British Columbia
Richard Cannings
1998 Ian McAllister The Great Bear Rainforest
Karen McAllister
Cameron Young
1999 Tom Henry Westcoasters
2000 Derek Hayes Historical Atlas of British Columbia and the Pacific Northwest

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1986 Joe Rosenblatt Poetry Hotel
1987 Diana Hartog Candy from Strangers
1988 Patricia Young All I Ever Needed was a Beautiful Room
1989 Charles Lillard Circling North
1990 Victoria Walker Suitcase
1991 Jeff Derksen Down Time
1992 Barry McKinnon Pulplog
1993 bill bissett inkorrect thots
1994 Gregory Scofield The Gathering
1995 Linda Rogers Hard Candy
1996 Patrick Lane Too Spare, Too Fierce
1997 Margo Button The Unhinging of Wings
1998 Patricia Young What I Remember from My Time on Earth
1999 David Zieroth How I Joined Humanity at Last
2000 Lorna Crozier What the Living Won't Let Go

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize

Genre/Genre: Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 Audrey Thomas Intertidal Life
1986 Keath Fraser Foreign Affairs
1987 Leona Gom Housebroken
1988 George McWhirter Cage
1989 Bill Schermbrucker Mimosa
1990 Keith Maillard Motet
1991 Audrey Thomas Wild Blue Yonder
1992 Don Dickinson Blue Husbands
1993 W. D. Valgardson The Girl with the Botticelli Face
1994 Caroline Adderson Bad Imaginings
1995 Gayla Reid To Be There with You
1996 Audrey Thomas Coming Down from Wa
1997 Gail Anderson-Dargatz The Cure for Death by Lightening
1998 Marilyn Bowering Visible Worlds
1999 Jack Hodgins Broken Ground
2000 Michael Turner The Pornographer's Poem

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 David Ricardo Williams Duff
1986 Bruce Hutchison The Unfinished Country
1987 Doris Shadbolt Bill Reid
1988 P. K. Page Brazilian Journal
1989 Robin Ridington Trail to Heaven
1990 Philip Marchand Marshall McLuhan
1991 Scott Watson Jack Shadbolt
1992 Rosemary Neering Down the Road
1993 Lynne Bowen Muddling Through
1994 Sharon Brown Some Became Flowers
1995 Lisa Hobbs Birnie Uncommon Will
1996 Claudia Cornwall Letter from Vienna
1997 Catherine Lang O-Bon in Chimunesu
1998 Suzanne Fournier Stolen from Our Embrace
Ernie Crey
1999 Peter Newman Titans
2000 Rita Moir Buffalo Jump

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1985 Hilary Stewart Cedar
1986 Donald Graham Keepers of the Light
1987 Ruth Kirk Wisdom of the Elders
1988 W. A. Hagelund Whalers No More
1989 Celia Haig-Brown Resistance and Renewal
1990 Western Canada Wilderness Committee Carmanah
1991 Paul Tennant Aboriginal People & Politics
1992 Herb Hammond Seeing the Forest Among the Trees
1993 Harry Robinson Nature Power
Wendy Wickwire
1994 Alex Rose Nisga'a
1995 Howard White Raincoast Chronicles
1996 Ken Drushka A Biography of H. R. MacMillan
1997 Alan Haig-Brown The Fraser River
1998 Richard Bocking Mighty River
1999 Mark Hume River of the Angry Moon
Harvey Thommassen
2000 Margaret Horsfield Cougar Annie's Garden

Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1987 Sarah Ellis The Baby Project
1988 Nicola Morgan Pride of Lions
1989 Mary Ellen Collura Sunny
1990 Paul Yee Tales from Gold Mountain
1991 Nancy Hundal I Heard My Mother Call My Name
1992 Alexandra Morton Siwiti
1993 Shirley Stirling My Name is Seepeetza
1994 Julie Lawson White Jade Tiger
1995 Lillian Boraks-Nemetz The Old Brown Suitcase
1996 Nan Gregory How Smudge Came
Ron Lightburn
1997 Sarah Ellis Back of Beyond
1998 James Heneghan Wish Me Luck
1999 Sandra Lightburn Driftwood Cove
Ron Lightburn
2000 Vivien Bowers Wow Canada!

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey