British Columbia Historical Federation Writing Competition


Alternate Title/Autre Titre:
Lieutenant Governor's Medal for Historical Writing

Winning books must present a facet of British Columbia history. Only the main winners, who receive the Lieutenant Governor's Medal for Historical Writing, are listed here. A cash prize is also awarded.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
British Columbia Historical Federation
P. O. Box 5254, Stn. B
Victoria, BC
V8R 6N4

Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:
British Columbia/Colombie-Britannique

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1983 Daphne Sleigh Discovering Deroche
1984 Barry M. Gough Gunboat Frontier
1985 John Norris Old Silverton, 1891-1930
1986 Charles Lillard Seven Shillings a Year
1987 Lynne Bowen Three Dollar Dreams
1988 Peter B. Waite Lord of Point Grey
1988 Bridget Moran Stoney Creek Woman
1989 John Hayman Robert Brown and the Vancouver Island Exploring Expedition
1990 Paul Tennant Aboriginal People and Politics
1991 Geoff Meggs Salmon
1992 James R. Gibson Boston Ships and China Goods
1993 Allison Mitcham Taku
1994 Tom Henry The Good Company
1995 Christine Frances Dickinson Atlin
Diane Solie Smith
1996 Richard Cannings British Columbia
Sydney Cannings
1997 Richard Somerset Mackie Trading Beyond the Mountains
1998 Kathryn Bridge By Snowshoe, Buckboard and Steamer
1999 Lilia D'Acres Lion's Gate
2000 Richard Somerset Mackie Island Timber

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey