Arrol Award for Non-Fiction


Named in memory of Ed Arrol, a long time member of the Calgary Writers Association, the award was administered by the Association. It was variously presented: to a new writer, for poetry, and, since 1996, for non-fiction. There was a cash prize. [Editors' note: the Calgary Writers Association ceased to exist in 2002.]

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Calgary Writers Association
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Body of Work / Oeuvre de toute une vie,Non-fiction/Non romanesque,Novel/Roman,Poetry / Poésie,Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1986 Karen Connelly (most promising writer)
1987 Dave Duncan ?
1988 Bob Stallworthy Filling in the Spaces
1989 Ken Adamson ?
1990 Kathryn Hartley The Silent Sky (short story)
1991 Colin Remillard We Keep Better
1992 Karen O'Byrne Who Laughs Last
1993 A. R. (Tony) King Doing Good Things: Prologue (opening of a novel)
1994 Louise Blank Keepsakes
1995 Deborah Smith Buzz Off (short story)
1996 Vivian Hansen Flatline Across The Prairie
1997 Catherine Roney Rushton Triangular Lodge
1998 Marguerite Norlander Oslo Harbor
1999 Ruth Daly How Much Is That Doggie in the ... Computer? (non-fiction)
2000 Susan McLure Seven Cans of Pasta

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey