Amethyst Review Annual Writing Contest


The Amethyst Review sponsored a writing contest for poetry and short story. A cash award was made in each category. [Editors: The magazine ceased in 2002.]

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
The Amethyst Review
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:


Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1993 Carol Rose Prayer
1994 Liliane Welch Benedictine Prayer
1995 Martha Gould Gorgon Garden Suite
1996 John Wilson The Erskine Men
1997 M. Travis Lane To Persevere
1998 John B. Lee Inuit Graveyard, Iqualuit
1999 Brian Burke North West Passage
2000 Tom Hodd The Ideal Cut
2001 Rena Upitis Pink Toenails
2002 M. Jennie Frost Soup Cup

Short Story

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1993 Heather Armour Insect Life
1994 Shanon M. Sara Still Life
1995 Lor Pelton Floribunda
1996 Brenda Meir Mea Culpa
1997 Kathleen Schmitt Desert Storm
1998 Joan Tovenati Waiting
1999 Dana B. Tierney 1946
2000 Hope Morritt The Mirage
2001 Jan Houston Inheritance
2002 Lorraine Wilson Goddess of Tomorrow's Folly

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey