Alberta Culture Awards


See Also/Voir Aussi:
Alberta Playwriting Competition

The first of these awards, Search for a New Alberta Novelist Competition, was offered biennially. This category was also called the New Alberta Novelist Competition ( -1985) and finally the Alberta New Fiction Competition (1987-1994). This award was for a manuscript and included a contract for publication in the prize. Over the years other categories, in chronological order, were added: non-fiction (1973-?), regional history (1973-1985), television drama/television writing (1973-?), write for radio (1981-1994), writing for youth (biennially from 1981-1995), short story (1983-1986), poetry (1986-1988). There was also an award for playwriting which had started in 1967 and was continued by the Alberta Playwrights Network as the Alberta Playwriting Competition (which see). The awards were given for authors who had lived in Alberta for 12 months of the previous 18 and were either Canadian citizens or landed immigrants. The awards were offered by the Alberta departments responsible for culture and were administrated by the Alberta Foundation for the Arts and its predecessors. There was a cash prize.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Alberta Foundation for the Arts
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Alberta New Fiction Competition

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,Novel/Roman,Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1971 Jan Truss Bird at the Window
1973 Betty Wilson Andre Tom MacGregor
1975 Pauline Gedge Child of the Morning
1977 L. R. Wright Neighbours
1979 Margaret Doerkson Jazzy
1981 No Winner N/A
1983 No Winner N/A
1985 Marie Moser Counterpoint
1987 ? ?
1989 No Winner N/A
1990 Norman Ravvin Cafe des Westens
1991 No Winner N/A
1993 Roberta Rees Beneath the Faceless Mountain
1994 George Wing Coppernob

Non-Fiction Award

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1973 Andy Russell Horns in the High Country
1974 J. G. MacGregor Paddle Wheels to Bucket Wheels on the Athabasca
1975 Hugh A. Dempsey The Best of Bob Edwards
1976 Cliff Faulknor The Pen and the Plow
1977 Andy Russell Adventures with Wild Animals
1978 Sid Marty Men for the Mountains
1979 James Gray Boomtime
1980 Ted Ferguson Desperate Siege
1981 Ann Gomer Sunahara Politics of Racism
1982 Donald Smith Long Lance
1983 Daniel Dancocks In Enemy Hands
1984 Wayne Lynch Married to the Wind
1985 Helen Forrester Lime Street at Two
1986 Grant MacEwen Heavy Horses
1987 Myrna Kostash No Kidding
1988 Daniel Dancocks Welcome to Flanders Fields
1989 Shirlee Smith Matheson This Was Our Valley
Earl K. Pollon
1990 ? ?
1991 ? ?
1992 ? ?
1993 ? ?
1994 ? ?

Poetry Award

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1986 Claire Harris Travelling to Find a Remedy
1987 Rhona McAdam Hour of the Pearl
1988 Christopher Wiseman Post-Cards Home

Regional History Award

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1973 Gilt Edge Ladies Booster Club Buffalo Trails and Tales
1974 Peter T. Ream The Fort on the Saskatchewan
1975 Foremost Historical Society Shortgrass Country
1976 Foothills Historical Society Chaps and Chinooks
1977 Fort Macleod History Book Committee Fort Macleod
1978 H. R. Nicholson ed Heart of Gold
1979 Crowsnest Pass Historical Society Crowsnest and Its People
1980 Breton and District Historical Society Ladder of Time
1981 Nampa and District Historical Society Turning the Pages of Time
1982 Alberta Rose Historical Society Pride in Progress
1983 Colin Hatcher Edmonton's Electric Transit
Tom Schwarzkopf
1984 John Gilpin Edmonton
1985 Neerlandia Historical Society A Furrow Laid Bare

Short Story Competition

Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1983 David Poulsen The Welcomin
1984 Bob Scammell Pothole Holocaust
1985 J. Leslie Bell A Drawing Down of Blinds
1986 Nancy Holmes Those Who Trespass Against Us

Television Drama/Television Writing

Genre/Genre: Radio-TV/Radio/Télévision,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1972 Patrick Donohoe Patriot Game
1973 Stefan Avar The Song A Snowbird Sings
1974 Gordon Pengilly Sea Shanty
1975 ? ?
1976 ? ?
1977 ? ?
1978 Ben Tarver Alamogordo Blood
1979 Colleen Carpenter Jenny
1980 Linda Kupecek Old Country Lace
1981 Michael Sturko Game Plan
1982 Dorothy Gladish The Odyssey of Bennie Wenjak
1983 Karen L. Murray Old Friends
1983 Marion Green Stephie
1984 ? ?
1985 Scot Morison Follow-up Story
1985 Robert Clinton The Goldrush
1986 Gregory Neil Pyne Sunny Jim
1987 ? ?
1988 Timothy J. Anderson The Latter-day Songbird
1989 ? ?
1990 ? ?
1991 ? ?
1992 ? ?
1993 ? ?
1994 ? ?

Write for Radio Competition

Genre/Genre: Radio-TV/Radio/Télévision,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
No year given. R.J. Mulvey The Deadlier Weapon
1981 Gary Simser Fate Has a Concave Face
1981 Heather Cooper No Apologies
1982 Addena Sumter Stay Black and Die
1983 ? ?
1984 Leslie Bell Farewell Reidswire Fells
1985 Robert Clinton Caveat Emptor
1986 ? ?
1987 Brad Fraser ?
Jeffrey Hirschfield
1988 Rose Scollard The Man Who Collected Women
1989 Fran Kimmel Sleep Enders
1990 ? ?
1991 Anna Christiansen ?
Beth Goobie
Karen Walton
1992 Carolyn Bennett ?
Barbara Curry Mulcahy
Hayden Trenholm
1993 Bruce Ehlert ?
Tony Hetman
1993 Katherine Koller Magpie
1994 Michael MacLean ?
1994 Katherine Koller Going to the Dump
1994 Larry MacKillop The Year Hank Williams Died

Writing for Youth Compeititon

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1981 Monica Hughes Hunter in the Dark
1983 Marilyn Halvorson Cowboys Don't Cry
1985 ? ?
1987 Alice Major Chinese Mirror
1989 ? ?
1991 Lynne Fairbridge In Such a Place
1993 David Bly The McIntyre Liar
1995 Grant Nolin We Don't Have To Be Friends

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey