Milton Acorn People's Poetry Award


This award was given for excellence in the writing of people's poetry. It was organized by fans of Milton Acorn who were outraged when he did not win the 1970 Governor General's Award. Acorn was the only recipient from 1970-1986 when he died and the award was declared an open award. The winner received a medallion and a cash prize, and was featured in a special issue of People's Poetry Letter.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
People's Poetry Letter
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1987 Chris Faiers Foot Through the Ceiling
1988 Maxine Tynes Borrowed Beauty
1989 Robert Priest The Mad Hand
1990 bill bissett it's hard to believe
1991 Al Purdy Woman on the Shore
1992 Evelyn Lau You Are Not Who You Claim
1993 John B. Lee Pig Dance Dreams
1994 Paulette Dube the house weighs heavy
1995 John B. Lee Variations on Herb
1996 Louise Halfe Bear Bones & Feathers
1997 Marty Gervais Tearing Into a Summer
1998 Barry Butson East End Poems
1999 Ken Babstock Mean

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey