Atlantic Writing Awards


The awards are offered in a number of categories with different beginning dates. All the awards, except the Evelyn Richardson Memorial Literary Award, are open to writers in the Atlantic Region. The Richardson award is for Nova Scotia writers only. There is a cash prize for each category.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Writers Federation of Nova Scotia
1113 Marginal Road
Halifax, NS
B3H 4P7

Phone/Téléphone: 902-423-8116
Fax/Télécopieur: 902-422-0881
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:
Newfoundland and Labrador/Terre-neuve et Labrador
Nova Scotia/Nouvelle-Écosse
New Brunswick/Nouveau-Brunswick

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children's Literature

Genre/Genre: Juvenile/Jeunesse,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1991 Joyce Barkhouse Pit Pony
1992 Kevin Major Eating Between the Lines
1993 Budge Wilson Oliver's War
1994 Lesley Choyce Good Idea Gone Bad
1995 Sheree Fitch Mabel Murple
1996 Don Aker Of Things Not Seen
1997 Janet McNaughton To Dance at the Palais Royale
1998 Norah McClintock The Body in the Basement
1999 Janet McNaughton Make or Break Spring
2000 David Weale The True Meaning of Crumbfest

Atlantic Canada Poetry Prize

Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1998 Carmelita McGrath To the New World
1999 John Steffler That Night We Were Ravenous
2000 Ken Babstock Mean

Evelyn Richardson Prize for Non-Fiction

Genre/Genre: Non-fiction/Non romanesque,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1978 Harry Bruce Lifeline
1979 Alden Nowlan Double Exposure
1980 Joan Payzant Like a Weaver's Shuttle
Lewis Payzant
1981 Kay Hill Joe Howe
1982 Bruce Armstrong Sable Island
1983 J. Murray Beck Joseph Howe: Conservative Reformer
1984 Brian C. Cuthbertson The Loyalist Governor
1985 Lilias M. Toward Mabel Bell
1986 P. B. Waite The Man from Halifax
1987 Tony Foster Meeting of Generals
1988 Harold Horwood Dancing on the Shore
1989 Dean Jobb Shades of Justice
1990 Judith Fingard Dark Side of Life in Victorian Halifax
1991 Harry Thurston Tidal Life
1992 Robert Pope Illness and Healing
1993 Sally Ross The Acadians of Nova Scotia
Alphonse Deveau
1994 Peter Brock Variations on a Planet
1995 Elizabeth Pacey Landmarks
1996 Simone Poirier-Bures That Shining Place
1997 Harry Thurston The Nature of Shorebirds
1998 Harry Bruce An Illustrated History of Nova Scotia
1999 Silver Donald Cameron The Living Beach
2000 Robin Metcalfe Studio Rally

Thomas Head Raddall Atlantic Fiction Prize

Genre/Genre: Novel/Roman,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1991 Wayne Johnston The Divine Ryans
1992 Herb Curtis The Last Tasmanian
1993 John Steffler The Afterlife of George Cartwright
1994 David Adams Richards For Those Who Hunt the Wounded Down
1995 Bernice Morgan Waiting for Time
1996 M. T. Dohaney A Marriage of Masks
1997 Alfred Silver Acadia
1998 Shree Ghatage Awake When All the World Is Asleep
1999 Wayne Johnston The Colony of Unrequited Dreams
2000 Alistair MacLeod No Great Mischief

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey