Valley Writer's Guild Contests


See Also/Voir Aussi:
Ray Burrell Award

In the early years of these contests, there was no cash prize and only members of the Valley Writers' Guild could enter. This changed in 1994 when the contest was opened to the general public, a cash prize was offered, and the winning entries were published in the annual anthology The Grist Mill. In 1999, the Valley Writers' Guild established three new awards to replace these contests: Ray Burrell Award (poetry); John Spencer Hill Award (fiction); Larry Turner Award (non-fiction). The Hill and Turner awards were international from the beginning and are not included in this compilation. The Ray Burrell Award (which see) started as a Canadian award, but then became international.

Sponsor/Organisme responsable:
Valley Writers' Guild
Jurisdiction/Champ d’application:


Genre/Genre: Short Story/Nouvelle,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1992 Eleanor Field Expert Advice
1993 Rosemary Rutley Cory's Corner
1994 Ann E. Tener The Tour
1995 Roger K. Latta The Experiment
1996 Eleanor McSheffrey The Back Porch
1997 Jeffrey A. Mineault Suspicion
1998 Roger K. Latta Sleeping in the Car
1999 kath macLean if i tell you about crocodile


Genre/Genre: Essay/Essai,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1992 Joy Hewitt Mann The Young Cowboys
1993 Cindy Barrett The Turtle
1994 Joy Hewitt Mann An Open Letter to Ray Bradbury
1995 Agnes Nemeth Bright Crossing the Border
1996 Joan Sonnenburg Gidday! Gidday!
1997 Sarah Withrow The Second Haircut
1998 Margaret Malloch Zielinski Going Home
1999 Chris Balicki The Road More Feverishly Travelled


Genre/Genre: Poetry / Poésie,

Year/Année Author/Auteur Winning work/Oeuvre primée
1992 Mollie Pearce McKibbon Primal Colors
1993 Terry Ann Carter Hockey Practice
1994 Ann E. Tener Mulberry Solstice
1995 Nancy Raymond Going South
1996 Marianne Bluger The Shoestore
1997 Joy Hewitt Mann My Father's Apple Orchard
1998 Barbara Myers For Galileo
1999 Joy Hewitt Mann Luna Moth

Creative Commons License
Literary Awards in Canada 1923-2000/Prix littéraires au Canada 1923-2000 by Angela Lonardo, Karen Lippold, and Suzanne Sexty is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Web Programmer: Chad Healey